A gluten-free diet is an eating plan that excludes foods that have the gluten component. The most common foods containing foods are wheat, rye, barley, and triticale.
What is the purpose of a Gluten-Free diet?
This eating plan is essential for people with celiac disease or many other diseases that cause adverse reactions from gluten.
A gluten-free diet also caters to people who aren’t diagnosed with gluten-related conditions. In addition, this diet may be famous for other benefits like weight loss, better health, and gaining an energy boost.
After undergoing gluten intolerance tests, doctors put patients showing symptoms like bloating, cramps, or diarrhea on a gluten-free diet for a few weeks to verify the cause, which could be:
- Celiac disease is a condition with an intense reaction by the body as gluten damages the small intestine lining. In addition, celiac disease is an autoimmune disorder where the damage caused to the small intestine doesn’t let the body absorb any nutrients.
- Non-celiac gluten sensitivity: This has the same symptoms as a celiac disease; however, it doesn’t damage the small intestine tissues. According to some studies, the immune system plays a role here, but non-celiac gluten sensitivity isn’t that well understood.
- Wheat Allergy: Similar to many other allergies, the immune system mistakes gluten in wheat to be a cause of disease. Thus, our immune system creates antibodies against the protein, causing discomfort through symptoms like breathing issues and congestion.
Foods permitted and not permitted in the gluten-free diet:
- Beans and Nuts in their original and unprocessed form.
- Unprocessed fish and poultry.
- Low-fat dairy products.
- Gluten-free flours. (Rice, soy, corn, potato, and bean flour)
Foods not allowed:
- Some types of Oats.
Processed foods with gluten:
A lot of processed food has gluten as an ingredient. It’s best to check the label before buying anything from the market. Wheat gluten is used as a thickening and binding agent in many types of foods.
Please avoid the following processed foods unless it’s stated that they’re gluten-free or made from grains other than wheat, rye, soy, or other gluten-free grains.
- Beer, Ginger ale, porter, or spout.
- Cakes and pies.
- French fries
- Malt and other malt-based products as they contain barley.
- Imitation of seafood or meat
- Kinds of pasta
- Hot dogs and processed meat.
- Salad dressings
- Sauces. (Soy sauce contains wheat.)
- Seasoned rice
- Soup mixes.
- Snacks like potato or tortilla chips
- Vegetables used in sauces
There can be over-the-counter medicines that may have gluten, as they may use wheat gluten for binding purposes. However, it’s better to consult your doctor before taking any pills to be sure they don’t cause any adverse reactions.
For people suffering from gluten intolerance, there’s a chance that it won’t stick to life long, and there’s a chance it’ll get better over the years. It is suggested that you may follow a gluten-free diet for a few years and then try adding it back to test the sensitivity, and it might be better than before. However, your health consultant may guide you better about your diet and how long it may last.
Leave a Reply